How to use your own Dataset for Lesson 1

I am a complete novice with machine learning and have just finished using my own dataset for the first half of lesson 1.
I couldn’t find any step-by-step instructions, and considering it’s the first bit of self-learning required, thought it would be useful if I posted what I did.
Any feedback on the method (inaccuracies made by me) would be appreciated.
This uploading part obviously only applies to those using paperspace.

These resources were helpful to me:

Either way, I hope this is helpful to a beginner in a similar situation.

• Collect at least 15 images for each category
  • Create a folder locally. I used ‘cowhorse’.
  • Inside this folder, create two subfolders: ‘train’ and ‘valid’
  • Inside both of these subfolders (train and valid), create another two subfolders for your two categories. In my case ‘cow’ and ‘horse’.
  • Put around 80% of your images in the ‘train’ subfolders, and the rest in the ‘valid’ subfolders.
  • Your finished structure should look like this:
  • Zip up this folder
  • SFTP into your paperspace box
  • Navigate to /fastai/courses/dl1/data/ and upload your .zip folder here
  • unzip this folder
  • In your jupyter notebook, change the PATH to the directory you just uploaded
  • Due to the low sample size, you may want to change the learning rate of the model (I changed mine to 0.2)
  • Run through all the commands and you should see the model using your new dataset:
13 Likes

As an aside, I’m wondering if someone could shed some light on an error I’m getting when it tries to return incorrect labels:

ValueError: Cannot take a larger sample than population when ‘replace=False’

Is this simply because there are no incorrectly labeled images? I can’t imagine this to be the case as it doesn’t seem like throwing an error is the way to report this.