V100 or RTX A6000

Hi,
I wanted to train a model with fastai for a somehow long time, and I have two options Nvidia V100 and RTX A6000. I wanted to use RTX A6000 because it has higher memory, and I wanted to train my model with a larger batch size. Also, RTX A6000 is much cheaper. But I was worried about performance and supporting FP16 training.
I am no hardware expert, so I wanted the opinion of you guys.

1 Like

Here are some deep learning benchmarks that might be helpful for you:

2 Likes

Thank you so much for this post @ilovescience
Sorry if this is somehow a newbie question, but I wanted to use 1A6000.10V instance, and I had some worries about installing packages like fastai and transformer since it uses AMD cpus. Do you think that would be a problem or not.
Also, does A6000 support FP16 for training because As I went through your post, I didn’t notice that.

1 Like

I found a benchmark that shows fp16 training performance as well:

Using AMD CPUs shouldn’t be a challenge, many people do use AMD CPUs actually. Using AMD GPUs is there more challenging situation since it’s not using CUDA (which is NVIDIA-specific).

2 Likes

The latest cards like A100 works well with AMD CPUs as they are the only ones currently supporting the PCIE-4 bus. Intel was also working on something, but it is not publicly available.

1 Like

When it comes to GPU selection, I keep a close eye on this blog post. Detailed advice and regular updates:

3 Likes

For anyone trying datacrunch servers with fastai it is worth checking out the real performance of their hardware / fastai on a particular GPU server.
I’m playing with Kaggle Patty competition and A6000 is ~2x times faster than v100 / a100 on datacrunch.

For example, one epoch of training convnext_large_in22k takes 02:50 on V100 (32 batch size) and 3:08 on A100 (128 batch size), while it takes only 01:39 on A6000 (96 batch size).

I’m running modified scripts posted by Jeremy on kaggle:

V100

A6000