The "BS<=32" paper

So, in the course of another topic, a poster brought up this paper:

Would like to use this thread to open up discussions about this, whether praises, criticisms, or other. I hasten to add I have NOT done a deep study of this paper, yet. I have just barely skimmed it (and am thankful for the relative lack of Greek symbols…a rarity) and it appears that it is concluding that the maximum optimal BS is 32. The paper appears to be basing this on CIFAR/Resnet, not sure how well this generalizes in other contexts.

I also do not have time to do my own BS tests at the moment but will try some soon, perhaps on some of my favorite Janelle Shane-style RNN’s that string together fun nonsense. Also need to brush up on batch normalization which I have all but forgotten. (Disclaimer: I am an old school Coursera student - looking forward to continuing the fast.ai classes but my step-by-step mind has more trouble following them).

3 Likes

Just chiming in this nice tweet

It is a classic! My concern with language models has been that I have to cut down to a batch size of 4 to get it on the card (or even 2 sometimes) which YLC would probably agree is too small. I am seeking to find what I can get on there (say up to a limit of 32 if you so desire…) and still not get an OOM error.

This is not going to be scientific in any way, but here’s the result of ONE run of Karpathy’s char_rnn, on a 2000 recipe file, with two vastly different batch sizes. I have no idea if this is apples to apples or not (probably not), I just went with a number of epochs that resulted in similar validation loss.

BS 32, 3 epochs (3399 iterations), validation loss = 1.0353
BS 512, 25 epochs (1750 iterations), validation loss = 1.0395