(Slow) Virtual Study Group: Karachi (Pakistan)

(This seems like the best time zone group where I can put myself out there / onto the forums. Apologies if it is for India only; I will try to post elsewhere if so.)

I am making a career transition from qualitative research to something more quantitative. I’ve been studying software engineering online for the past year or so (mainly Ruby, but some Python and JavaScript) but always wanted to dive into deep learning and machine learning / data science work.

(Some basic background in case of interest: I’m 36 years old, Dutch / British background. Living in Pakistan at the moment but I used to travel a lot pre-COVID. My background is in history / qualitative research work, in which I got my PhD a few years back.)

I’m interested in seeing if there is anyone in or around this time zone — I’m based in Karachi, Pakistan, for the moment — who would be interested in chatting together or working together through the fast.ai syllabus / course? Ideally a first-timer and possibly also someone who doesn’t mind taking it slowly. I have a full-time job so I’m unable to spend all my time working on the course.

I have no idea if this would be interesting for someone or not. I feel like perhaps there is someone out there like me who would find this an interesting opportunity. We can wait until the next version of the course is released, or alternatively we could work our way through the book (which is released and already available as a kindle version).

Anyone interested?

Just checking to see if anyone is interested in working on the book…

1 Like

Hi Alex, I’m based in Islamabad. A computer science graduate with the same routine(full time job). I’m going through the course 3 lectures a week. I’ve only completed the first 3 video chapters right now. Would love to work through this with you. How do you propose, we proceed with this?