Learning Greek Letters for Reading Papers

Jeremy has talked about the importance of learning the Greek letters so that you can better understand papers, but I haven’t seen any resources for doing that, so I made an Anki flashcard deck that contains the Unicode and LaTeX representations of the Greek letters most commonly used in science and math, along with audio, english pronunciation, and notes on what each symbol is typically used for in ML papers.

I am very new to reading papers, so there are almost no notes on usage, but I’ll go back over time and add notes as I learn, and I hope some more experienced practitioners can also help us to crowdsource it.

Deck is available here: Greek Letters Flashcards
Github here: Greek Letters Github - Github repo contains the audio, images, and deck in case someone wants to use them to make their own teaching tool.

25 Likes

Thanks for the Anki cards! will try it out!

I did catch one bug, turns out I had both upper and lowercase gamma labeled as lowercase. Fixed now, for anyone already using it, it may sync, if not, please change gamma-upper . to say lowercase (top right, edit note)

I’ll also use this time to go into Anki a bit with a few tips for people who haven’t used it. It’s a spaced memory repetition system that uses your feedback on each individual card (if you found it easy/good/hard) to predict the optimal time to show it to you next. The interface for making cards is clunky and has a learning curve but using it is easy, it is free/open-source (on android and desktop, they charge a lot for iOS).

One feature I’d recommend is “suspend card” (also in top right corner), for cards you already know. For instance, I’m pretty sure everyone here can name…pi-lower