Fastai2 Tabular Feature Importance

Hi all! I’ve been trying to figure out how to analyse feature importance for tabular data…There are a few relevant bits of code for Fastai1, but I’ve struggled to adapt them to the new code (I’m still pretty new at this!).

Eg: Feature importance in deep learning
Updated Feature Importance for Tabular?
https://johnkeefe.net/detecting-feature-importance-in-fast-dot-ai-neural-networks
https://medium.com/@mnpinto/neural-networks-feature-importance-with-fastai-5c393cf65815

I’ve had a dig through the documentation, and it looks like I might have to re-write this from scratch once I’ve figure it out (as you tend to iterate over your features and computer information loss)…or is there an easier way of doing this that I’ve missed?

Thanks!

1 Like

There’s a notebook, check out my tabular notebooks:

(almost anything and everything is in this repo and there are lectures to go along with it)

4 Likes

Oooo thank you! This is what I get for skipping instead of going through the damn book :stuck_out_tongue:

Actually this comes from my own course, not fastai’s book :wink: (See Walk with fastai2)

Hi @muellerzr , I am working with a tabular dataset and I would like to get the importance of each variable for each test observation.

On the GitHub you mention, which I found very interesting, it pulls the importance of the variables with respect to the whole DL model.

What do you think would be the way to go to get the most important variables for each observation in the test set?

Thank you very much in advance! :slight_smile:

1 Like