Anyone starting the course July 2019

Hi Fastai members,

I am new to Machine Learning and came across this wonderful website.

If anyone is starting or started recently, we can collaborate and help each other in this Machine Learning journey.

Thanks,
Murali

4 Likes

I’m here
Now I’m on lesson 4

I’m currently past Lesson 3.
Will be happy to help/collaborate.

2 Likes

Hi @Krieker @Brainkite, i have actually in the process of setting up the software to execute the code. Which one you guys are using? Crestle/Paperspace/AWS?
Any suggestions for me.

I am currently going to start week 3 of the course…

How do you solve 'file name too long error ’ while creating the ImageDataBunch object?
Help please…

@cap_rogers how long are your file names? If they’re excessively long is it possible for you to rename them if needed? (You can do this in Jupyter no need to go one by one)

When I printed out the file names,they seemed fine. For eg. ‘PosixPath(’/root/.fastai/data/planet_sample/train/train_11988.jpg’)’. This was one of the files. The path for my training folder is ‘PosixPath(’/root/.fastai/data/planet_sample/train’.
This is the error I am getting

Google Colab is pretty easy to get started and it’s free. Check it out.

Hey all,

I am currently on lesson 2 but am getting pretty excited to try out my own image classification project before I move on to lesson 3.

Anyone tried any personal projects so far?

1 Like

Hi @jianjye, thanks for the suggestion. I was thinking to go with the Crestle. Because it does not need any installation. And i can straight away start working on the Lesson 1 code.

Anyhow i want to know how much time it will take for me to start working on Lesson 1 if i use Google Colab. Do you have any installation steps?

This is the link, i should follow right for Colab - https://course.fast.ai/start_colab.html .