Lesson 1 Notebook - can't find dogscats data

(Simon Laycock) #1

Hi - please bear with a complete newbie! I have managed to get through various obstacles myself, but now I’m stuck. I wonder if I have unzipped the dogscats data into the wrong directory, but it looks to be exactly the same as in the video. It doesn’t help that I know very little of Linux. Anyhow, the notebook runs fine until the final step, when I get:

OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: ‘data/dogscats/sample/train’.

Here is my Cygwin window:

Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks,

Simon

Howto: installation on Windows

Can’t verify this atm myself, but I think when you run a notebook the paths are relative to where the notebook resides and not relative to from where you run the jupyter notebook server.

You seem to have data under ~/nbs, but your ipython notebook is under courses/deeplearning1/nbs? In such a case, the relative path to the data folder would be: ‘…/…/…/data’ or something like that. You might want to move your data folder to the courses/deeplearning1/nbs folder and this should solve this for you.

To check what your notebok considers its working directory, you can do this:
import os
os.getcwd()

(Simon Laycock) #3

Thanks - moving the folder worked!

(Eyal) #4

Hi,
I can’t find the dogscats.zip file in the course GitHub. Where should I get it ?

(Eyal) #5

I registered to kaggle and downloaded the two files. But, I could’t find sample zip file. Should we copy some images to the “sample” folder as we choose ?

(Jeremy Howard) #6

Look in http://files.fast.ai/data/

(Henry Marshall) #7

It would be really helpful if someone could add the new link was posted on the wiki’s lesson 1 and datasets pages. I’d do it myself, but it seems like you can’t edit the wiki as a MOOC student.

(Susan Li) #8