Why does the gradient descent process shown in Lesson 3 (2020) never reach a loss of 0?

I’m new to machine learning, so sorry if I’m not using the proper jargon, but why are the parameters never fully optimized in this image?

The loss seems to go down super fast at the beginning, but stays around 676 at the end rather than approaching 0, even when I ran apply_step(params) 20 more times. The graph of the predictions also does not match the original graph even after lots of training. This seems to be different from the 2019 course, where the linear regression was able to match the original data almost perfectly. Why is this?

@stonecr0wn
If you look at the data you’re trying to fit, you’ll see that it doesn’t Exactly follow quadratic distribution - there’s some noise in the data! And so if you try fitting a quadratic function through the data, you’ll never be able to cross the function through all the points. That’s usually true in data science - the data you’re given follows some general trend, but there is always some noise. We’re usually interested in finding the general trend, which is, in this case, a quadratic distribution. We would like to find the quadratic equation that “Best” fits the distribution. You’ll never be able to fit the distribution perfectly, with this function.
Hope this helps!

3 Likes

Getting a loss of 0 (or really close to it) is actually indicative of an important problem in machine learning: overfitting.

If the loss is 0, it means the neural network has perfectly learned the training data. But we don’t really want it to memorize the training data. We only want the model to learn interesting patterns from the data, so that we can detect those same patterns in other, unseen data too.

With a loss of 0, your model may have learned the wrong thing. It has a perfect score on the training data. But will it work OK on new data too?