What is API & How to learn API fundamentals ; which is a must for DL practitioners and ML engineers?

Hii , I am a beginner in programming and ML engineering.
I want to understand API ( relevant to ML engineering / deep learning / software engineering)

• What is API and its fundamentals ?
  • What are the best ways to understand API , so its easier to use them and also write APIs (relevant to ML engineering, DL practitioner) ?
  • What are the best resources (for the above) ?

additional context ::
Proff. Zach Mueller once shared an API design course syllabus here (Discord).

Hi Saurav
An Application Programming Interface is a computer program written by somebody else. You pass it information and it returns information as described by the creater. In computer sciences we have functions, subroutines and API but they are all the same. Nowadays API normally cross the Internet to retrieve the information. They are not specific to ML or DL. To write an API you need to define what is passed to the API, how the data is process and what is returned. A good example might be a web request such as URL + GET which return some information. So you could send GET 1 2 and it returns 3 because you used the ADD API. You can add complexity but essence it is a magic box with a description and specification for the input and the output.
So for example you might have an API with security.
1 Get the API public key. Encrypt with the public key your user and password. Send a API bearer request.
2 Using the bearer request issue a request for information and then process the returned information.

The information in and out is often presented as JSON formatted data.

So the one-line is a magic box with specifed inputs and outputs.

A good example is retrieving data from your google drive or google translate speech to text.

Regards Conwyn

1 Like