Using Random Forest to interpret feature importance

In one of Jeremy’s lectures, he said in order to find the best values of weight decay, he tried lots fo values of NN hyperparameters, and put the results into a random forest and used visualization techniques to find best hyperparameters, how can I recreate this process on my own?

3 Likes

I am not an expert but I am very interested in this topic, so I will try to give it a shot.

I would say that the process is twofold:

• As with any supervised learning problem, the first step is to fit a model that matches a set of inputs and outputs, using Random Forest. In this case, the inputs (the independent variables “X”) to the Random Forest are the hyperparameters of the NN model and the outputs (the dependent variable “y”) of the Random Forest are any kind of performance metrics from the NN model, such as the loss, accuracy, speed of computation etc. In order to generate a dataset of inputs/outputs, you can just run your NN model using a range of hyperparameters values and record your metrics of interest.
  • Once you have fit a model using Random Forest, you can apply model interpretation methods, as taught by Jeremy in the machine learning course. For example, you can use feature importance to identify the hyperparameters having the most impact and/or partial dependence plots to visualize the values of NN hyperparameters leading to the best accuracy in the NN model, say.

So, the process is relatively easy I think, and I intend to apply it in the near future in my own work.

_
_
_

Note that the following remark is out of the scope of your question, so perhaps I’ll write a new post for this:

I wonder if there is a way to apply the same kind of interpretation methods inside PyTorch.