Using deep learning to crack bitcoin

I’m still very new to deep learning, and I don’t yet have the skill to experiment with this, but I thought it was a cool idea that someone else might find interesting. Basically, I think the bitcoin blockchain is the perfect set of training data for someone who wants to break the SHA-256 algorithm, and I think deep learning is perfectly suited to this task.

You could use the blockchain as your training data and the SHA-256 algorithm as your loss function. If successful, you would be able to give your model a hash from the blockchain, along with a timestamp and list of transactions, and it should be able to generate the nonce required to mine a block.

If you’re not at least a little familiar with how bitcoin mining works, maybe none of that makes sense. To get a sense of what I’m talking about, you can play with the SHA-256 hash online here:

Type in random stuff, and imagine that you are trying to get an output that starts with 10 zeros in a row. This is basically what’s stored in the blockchain: (hash with 10 leading zeros) + (transactions and timestamp) + (random number) = another hash with 10 leading zeros. These outputs are considered to be random, but because they are based on an algorithm, I suspect that they are not truly random.

The blockchain is basically a recursive set of low entropy outputs from the SHA-256 algorithm, which seems like the ideal training data for someone who wants to break this algorithm. I have no animosity towards bitcoin, but I think this would be an amazing accomplishment.

Edit- I considered deleting this because if someone succeeds, my bitcoin will be worthless!

Hi,

Generally, the blockchain algorithm is very interesting, because this future of all kinds of credentials, confirmations. In fact, you can sha256 for a long time here, there. I’m thinking of document authentication. This year bitcoin has not entered a deflationary phase?