Ubuntu 18.04.05 + gtx 1060 6GB + CUDA 11.2. Clean install guide

Hello community. Over the last two days I managed to set up my own machine learning … machine.
I simply want to share my steps, they may be useful for someone.
Please note that I am a newbie to machine learning (as of jan 2021). I can’t give any solid advice, even though I’d love to. This guide is aimed at peope that don’t really know what to do (same as me :wink: ).

First, credits where they should be. Big “Thank You” to the authors of the pages below. I could finish this setup by following their advice.

Santosh KS

https://medium.com/@santhoshachar08/build-your-own-deep-learning-machine-e6e2e3940765

Isaac Kimsey

https://medium.com/@IsaacJK/setting-up-a-ubuntu-18-04-1-lts-system-for-deep-learning-and-scientific-computing-fab19f7ca39d

Nvidia installation guide

https://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-installation-guide-linux/index.html#pre-installation-actions

My PC is nothing special, I use small SSD to boot the system and larger HDD for files, games, movies etc. Graphics is GTX 1060 6GB. Processor is medium-high intel.

Step 0 :
Before start, I went to to nvidia installation guide above and check supported video cards.

I was wondering if I should install ubuntu 18 LTS or 20 LTS. People were saying that 20 is working good, so I wanted to get the latest version, but on nvidia guide I found that 20.04 have limited validation (whatever that means) so I went with the safer option.

Step 1 :
Disconnected power to my video card, as this should make rest of the installation easier. I have no idea why. If there is someone here that wants to share their knowledge - you are welcome.

Step 2 :
Installed ubuntu to SSD. I reserved about 50GB of space for the system.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

Commands above update and upgrade system.

Step 3 :
Installed libraries

sudo apt-get install vim csh flex gfortran libgfortran3 g++ \
                     cmake xorg-dev patch zlib1g-dev libbz2-dev \