Trouble using load_learner('model.pkl') in Jupyter Notebook

Hi all,

I’m trying to get my ML model onto Hugging Space (lesson 2). When I try to load my model from Kaggle into an app.ipynb (just like the video), I get this error attached below when I call load_learner. My model is very similar to the one in Lesson 1.

I’m very new to the Fastai course and would appreciate any help. Thanks!

It’s hard to guess where the error comes from just by the one line of code. Could you provide a link to your notebook, so we can have a closer look? It seems that there is something missing in the app.ipynb that the learner expected to be there, so you could double check that you ran all cells as in the lesson.

Here’s the code above it. I’m pretty sure I need to declare some functions but I’m not sure why or what.

Here’s the link to the code in model.pkl
https://www.kaggle.com/code/gabeguo/husky-or-not

I get a 404 error. You need to make the link public.

Sorry, I made it public now

Nothing to appologize for :slight_smile:

So I ran the notebook you linked, exported the model.pkl, created a new notebook, imported the model ,ran the code you provided in the screenshot and it loaded the model happily.
Could you double check, that the model.pkl is the one you expect? Just a guess but maybe there was a mixup and you loaded a different model.

1 Like

I just reran the code on kaggle, renamed the model so I wouldn’t mix anything up, and downloaded it. It’s still throwing the same error.

Ok, that would have been to easy :slight_smile:
Could you share the app notebook too, so I can reproduce the error for myself and have a closer look?

Was your re-run done on Kaggle or Huggingface?
It seems @benkarr’s success was running load_learner on Kaggle.
Lets get load_learner working for you on Kaggle before trying it of Huggingface.

You can work towards isolating your problem by:

1. Copying your notebook
  2. After the cell-X… learn.export('model.pkl')