👐 Training a Network to Detect Hands

Hello everyone! My name is Thomas, I am an independent game developer, currently based in Berlin. I have previously built a game named Kingdom, and am now working on a few smaller projects including a public space (outdoor) game. For an impression of what that is like, this is a game I did previously.

Task

For games like the above, I am currently trying to train a network that would be able to detect hands in (close to) real time from a webcam feed. What I was hoping to do is train the output network to emit high values for regions that contain hands, I will post-process that with a non-maximum suppression / mode-finding to find the actual location.

Data

I have recorded and annotated some data of myself waving my hands around. This data is the source for generating training targets. I have currently opted for a simple blob around the hand center with a radius corresponding to the hand size. I recorded some data with me sitting in front of the webcam, and some data from further away. I am planning to record much more data, but before investing a lot of time in that, I want to have a better grasp of the requirements, so I started experimenting with a quick and dirty dataset first.

Fig 1: Examples of annotated data:

Fig 1

Fig 2: Example of target image with blobs where the hands are:

Fig 2

Approach

To start simple and naively, I took the first two Conv Blocks with weights from VGG16, and added another trainable Conv Block on top of that, finishing with a 1x1 Conv2D layer to collapse all the filter weights into a 2D output image.

== VGG WEIGHTS ==
conv2d_1 (Conv2D)            (None, 64, 240, 426)
conv2d_2 (Conv2D)            (None, 64, 240, 426)
max_pooling2d_1 (MaxPooling2 (None, 64, 120, 213)
conv2d_3 (Conv2D)            (None, 128, 120, 213)
conv2d_4 (Conv2D)            (None, 128, 120, 213)
max_pooling2d_2 (MaxPooling2 (None, 128, 60, 106)
== TRAINABLE ==
conv2d_18 (Conv2D)           (None, 512, 60, 106)