Retrieve data from original Item in metric function

I’m quite new to fastai, and while toying around with some projects I keep finding myself in the position to want to have access to the original data in a metric function, rather than just the prediction and target tensors. Some examples:

• I was playing around with a model that predicts some points using a heat map (it’s a bit more involved than this but that doesn’t matter for the example). The original label data is a set of coordinates, which is converted to a heat map, which is then to be predicted from the input data by some conv net. The operation turning the heat map back into points is not super expensive, but it does slow things down and is kind of wasteful given that the target points are known information.
  • In a regression model I want to print out the percentage of predictions being within some epsilon value of a target value. Due to normalization, both the target value and the predicted value are scaled by a factor present in the original dataframe, so the epsilon no longer makes sense. Access to the original dataframe in the metric would tell me what to scale it by (or let me scale the predictions / targets).

I’ve been going through the fastai code for the past few hours, but I can only figure out how to access the fixed items that the CallbackHandler puts in the state_dict from any metric callback and I don’t see anything that’s immediately useful to this problem there. Given how often this comes up for me, I was wondering if somebody has encountered this problem and came up with a solution.

For now I’ve settled on a hack that I probably wouldn’t recommend if you care about the stability and maintainability of your code, and probably doesn’t solve the scenario with performance concerns… but does part of the job anyway, so I’ll share it here. It involves wrapping metrics in a different Callback class that you also pass your data:

class AugmentedAverageMetric(AverageMetric):