Reading the loss vs learning rate graph

Hi all,

Okay this might be a silly question but I’m a noob so I’m gonna go ahead and ask.

How do you read this plot?

Screen Shot 2020-07-31 at 7.35.24 AM

For example, how do you read the x axis to figure out what value corresponds to the lowest loss?

You can somewhat reproduce that graph by using the following line - although you might need to play with the scales.

plt.plot(learn.recorder.lrs, learn.recorder.losses)

From learn.recorder.losses you can find the minimum value of the loss using the min() method. However, more important than that, is finding a good learning rate for training. As said in the first lessons, good learning rates are the ones that have the greatest negative slope. For your example graph, that would be around 1e-3.

Did I explain myself well?

Thanks for the explanation! I was actually trying to actually figure out how to read that plot. As in, how do you could those little ticks on the axis and what value each tick represents.

Also, I thought the best learning rate would be where the loss is at a minimum? In this case, somewhere a little to the right of 1e-03

While having plots is useful, if you have the list of the losses, why not using them to get exactly the minimum value?

The learning rate with the lowest loss is not the one you would want to choose. A more detailed explanation is given in the following blog post

I understand what you’re saying. I’m not concerned with the learning rate really but I’m just trying to understand how to read a graph like this because I have no idea how to read the x-axis :laughing: what is the value of each tick between 1-e03 and 1-e02?

If you really want to just use the graph, you could use a pixel ruler and count how many pixels are equal to a tick.

@avngr