Problem installing fastai on Jupyter notebook running on Google Cloud

Hello, I am new to fastai course, and after few hours scanning through the documentation and the forum I am looking for help.
I am following up the instructions of https://course19.fast.ai/start_gcp.html and cannot properly install the fastai library after running the command on the terminal:

conda install -c fastai fastai

i receive the error message:

ERROR conda.core.link:_execute(700): An error occurred while installing package ‘defaults::pytorch-1.3.1-cpu_py37h62f834f_0’.

Rolling back transaction: done

[Errno 13] Permission denied: ‘/opt/conda/lib/python3.7/site-packages/torch/pycache/config.cpython-37.pyc’

I thought this was only warning messages but when running the notebooks for the first lesson, also got error message related to the fastai library function that could not be found…I would appreciate any help, and sorry if this issue is trivial.

Thanks

Any luck with this yet? I’m having the same issue.

No luck yet. My turn around in the meantime has been to used google colab instead of setting up google cloud server, all libraries are already installed, no setup needed…

But still I hope to have a response to setting google cloud instance and installed the library properly,

1 Like

Just got it to work. Here’s what worked for me:
After launching the terminal, I uninstalled torch and torchvision:
pip uninstall torch
pip uninstall torchvision

Then install fastai:
conda install -c fastai -c pytorch -c anaconda fastai gh anaconda

I tried the same, removed successfully torch and torch vision, however, could not install fastai successfully and got the error message below. I can’t understand what to do next, how to remove the specified file manually…would be great to have help on this.