Prediction on Video Input File

Sorry if this is an inappropriate or obvious question, but I’m new. I searched google and the forums but couldn’t find what may be a simple answer to those more knowledgeable (I am not a coder).

I’ve managed to cobble together code that reads a 3 minute video, then using a resnet cnn trained on labeled “interesting” frames it predicts “interesting” segments of the video, then I use MoviePy to stitch together those clips into a 30 second highlight. Everything works great, it’s just really slow (on my laptop GTX-960m and Google Colab K80s).

My question: Is there a way to avoid writing video frames to disk (as .jpg files) before reading them with learn.predict(open_image(file))? I do not know how to troubleshoot what is taking so long, but I suspect an unnecessary i/o to disk isn’t helping.

Relevant code:

learn = cnn_learner(data, models.resnet34, metrics=error_rate)
vid = cv2.VideoCapture(str(testvid))
while ret:
    ret, frame = vid.read()
    cv2.imwrite(file, frame)
    p = learn.predict(open_image(file))

I’ve tried different combinations of cv2.imencode and decode as well as trying open_image(frame) but they all throw errors inside the fast.ai library as open_image is looking for an image “file”.

I’ve looked at others attempts to write custom video dataloaders but that is way above my paygrade. Am I missing something simple?

What you need to do is convert the opencv frame to a pytorch tensor. You can do it as follows:
t = 1 - torch.tensor(np.ascontiguousarray(np.flip(im, 2)).transpose(2,0,1))