Possible Memory Leaks Swift For TensorFlow in Python Interop (Python.swift)

First, if anyone is interested in using Python from within Swift without the TensorFlow part, you can easily integrate the Python interop part of the TensorFlow code by getting it from here https://github.com/pvieito/PythonKit I’ve been using it for many months now and they seem to keep it pretty well in sync with the TensorFlow repo.

Back when Jeremy, Sylvain and many others started working on FastAI 1.0, I foolishly decided I’d try to learn the inner workings of FastAI by attempting to code it in Swift as they coded it in Python and so I started using the aforementioned PythonKit.

It’s been a great learning experience but I’ve had issues with memory not being released, so finally this weekend I decided to solely work on finding and fixing these memory leaks if at all possible and after much searching I believe I’ve found a few causes and so wanted to share them with you as it seems the FastAI community is actively embracing Swift with much enthusiasm and you can’t get much deep learning done if you run out of memory. I haven’t fixed all my memory leaks and if I find any more in this library I’ll post here. Also, if anyone can either corroborate my findings or tell me why I’m wrong that would be great.

Below are the changes I believe you need to make in Python.swift

1. In the 2 functions dynamicallyCall, add defer { Py_DecRef(result) } right before the return statement like below. I believe this is necessary because PyObject_Call and PyObject_CallObject according to the Python documentation return a reference that has already been incremented but the PythonObject constructor (the owning constructor) being used in this code is also incrementing the reference.

guard let result = PyObject_CallObject(selfObject, argTuple) else {
      // If a Python exception was thrown, throw a corresponding Swift error.
      try throwPythonErrorIfPresent()
      throw PythonError.invalidCall(base)
   }