Pattern Recognition in images

Hi

I am a beginner in the field of deep learning and am trying to detect if a teacher’s slide has a multiple-choice-question on it.

For the training data that I have, there are slides (in image form), which either have typed questions or slides where teachers have scanned questions from some book and put that image in the slide.

Basically, the model needs to detect a pattern where there is some text followed by 2-4 bullet points.

Some examples are as follows:

I tried the resnet model on this dataset and while it worked well on the training and validation dataset, when I fed it randomly picked images of MCQs from the internet, it failed miserably. So I am not sure what the model was detecting really. Was it able to understand that it needs to look for a pattern.

I want to know if resnet is the right model to use for this problem or if there are specialized models for such problems (like YOLO is for object detection). If resnet should work for this, then what kind of tricks can I use to guide it to the correct solution.

Thanks

Hey, I will try to help but I am not very experienced too :slight_smile:

You don’t say what are the sizes of your training and validation sets. Maybe you are not training it with enough data.
Other point: Maybe your test set is not like your training set and your validation set, and then you can’t have good results.
So just have a look in your data (training, valid, test) to see if your data is ok

For that, maybe classifying the whole image is OK, but you can try to see some patterns with object detection like the points or a) b) c) … Have a try…

How about you train YOLO to find a), b), c) ,d). If it finds them, then the image has multiple choice questions.

Thanks for your replies.

The problem with trying to detect a), b), c), d) is that the number of options may vary, the options might be A), B), C), D) or 1, 2, 3, 4 or i, ii, iii, iv. They might not have ) at the right, etc.