Only use architecture from huggingface's transformers in fastai

Hello,

I’m a complete noob when it comes to huggingface’s transformers and have a quite basic question. I don’t want to fine-tune a transformer but only want the architecture since my project surrounds SMILES strings and not your general language problem. I.e I need to implement my own tokenizer, vocab etc. Does anyone know if there’s an easy way to just use any transformers architecture directly in the Learner, similar to how we can use AWD_LSTM with pretrained=False?

My guess is no since I can’t find anything about it… In Fastai v1 there was a transformer called Transformer-XL, separate from huggingface, that could be implemented like this but haven’t found anything like this in fastai v2.

Hi,

Some GitHub repositories do what you want. One is a simple wrapper around huggingface transformers I have written :smiley:

But there are also more sophisticated and mature solutions like blurr.

Thanks! :slight_smile: I’ve seen Blurr before but didn’t think it answered my question. My issue is that neither of the two seem to allow me to use my own tokenizer? Both seem to import both the model and the tokenizer with the Auto-comands… E.g when I look at the imported model structure the embedder is already defined by a preexisting vocabulary which won’t work in my case.

Check out this tutorial Tutorial - Transformers
I think you can find what you need in the section Bridging the gap with fastai as you should create your own tokenizer class and model.

Also, there is fasthugs which is done by @morgan

Hope these will help :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks! I’ll check it out :slight_smile:

I’ve read those before and the issue remains. The closest I’ve come to what I want is this blogpost, also found in @morgan 's fasthugs tutorial: How to train a new language model from scratch using Transformers and Tokenizers