Object Detection based on color

I am new to this…We have done several of the tutorials and are able to use a CNN to detect objects that we train on. What I can’t seem to figure out though is how to differentiate between 2 similar objects that are only different in color. Seems like the normal CNN models are colorblind. Is there a way to incorporate color detection into the model?

Good question. I think if you use transfer learning with enough color labelled targets then you should get color detection. However I have just trained a model where 100% of the red items are class 0. Yet the model seems to miss many of them.

My theory is that the shape is more dominant so possibly results will improve with more training data including red items. Nevertheless I am surprised it is less sensitive to color as they are so obvious to the human eye.

The normal CNN architectures „merge“ the colors in their input conv layer.

Maybe an option could be to load the different color channels as a 1D image and do some convolutions and merge them later in the Network with concatenation/addition with the other channels?

1 Like

sounds good conceptually, but I have no idea how to do that :wink:

Seems like there would be way to detect colors. All of the examples are about detecting objects (shapes), but distinguishing 2 items of the same color could be valuable. (e.g. basketball player on team A or team B, red car or yellow car, black checker board piece or red checkerboard piece, etc.)

I had to think about this topic and the posted picture is incomplete/too simple, because it only shows the case for input_layers = 3 and out_layers = 1 which is not the case in a standard model, i.e., ResNet34.

The ResNet34 has the following input stage:
Conv2d(3, 64, kernel_size=(7, 7), stride=(2, 2), padding=(3, 3), bias=False)