Need help for improving accuracy on cifar 10 datasets

Hey!I have actually created a model on cifar 10 datasets using resnet34 model.But getting around 81 percent of accuracy ,it is done by applying the things that is taught in fastai course till 3rd chapter .Not getting much more .

Can I get some recommendation how to improve it.

I have attached the code into it .actually I am new to it but really need help

link to my code:https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1zsESxxtPzFPyJFcU2NHWJejX1fMQd4b1?usp=sharing

I encountered this situation few weeks ago and got a much better result just by resizing the images to a bigger size. Images in CIFAR10 is only 32*32. Resizing them may give your model more details of the images.

You can resize the images as the size of images that are trained by resnet34 image size. So there is this concept of receptive field check it out to understand why it will better increasing the size. Also add normalising according to imagenet stats. This might help.

Hi @Kiranpratyush,

If you want to improve the accuracy of your model, you should read chapter 7 of the fast book -
an online copy of the notebook is available online here .

As a personal challenge, I tried building a model as accurate as I can as well, using resnet34 on cifar (I was studying the cifar dataset for another project) so I built this notebook here and I was able to get an accuracy of 96.14 percent. :grinning:

I started out pretty much like you did, but I added progressive resizing + MixUp + SmoothLabelling and finally used TTA (all of which are discussed in chapter 7 of the book).

BTW, as a comparison, here are the SOTA results on the CIFAR10 dataset from papers with code so 96.14 is between the SOTA results sometime in 2015… which is not bad for about a few hours work.

I bet we can get higher accuracies using more modern pretrained architectures (or even just using resnet50)…

Best regards,
Butch

2 Likes