My PyTorch model is predicting only zeros

Hi,
I have again problem with my PyTorch code. I just started learning PyTorch so probably this is easy to solve for pros.

class NeuralNetwork(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, num_classes=1):
        super(NeuralNetwork, self).__init__()

self.layer1 = nn.Linear(num_input,num_classes)

def forward(self, x):
    out = self.layer1(x)
    return out

# Loss and optimizer
criterion = nn.MSELoss()
optimizer = torch.optim.Adam(model.parameters(), lr=learning_rate)

total_step = int(len(x_train) / batch_size)
for epoch in range(epochs):
    for i, (x,y) in enumerate(train_loader):
        # Forward pass
        outputs = model(x.float())
        loss = criterion(outputs, y[:,None].float())

# Backward and optimize
        optimizer.zero_grad()
        loss.backward()
        optimizer.step()

if (i+1) % 100 == 0:
            print ('Epoch [{}/{}], Step [{}/{}], Loss: {:.4f}' 
                  .format(epoch+1, num_epochs, i+1, total_step, loss.item()))

from sklearn.metrics import r2_score
# Test the model
model.eval()  # eval mode (batchnorm uses moving mean/variance instead of mini-batch mean/variance)
with torch.no_grad():
    r_squares = []
    for x, y in test_loader:
        outputs = model(Variable(x).float())
        _, predicted = torch.max(outputs.data, 1)
        y = Variable(y).type(torch.LongTensor)
        print("y:",y)
        print("y_hat:",predicted)
        r2_score(y.numpy(),predicted.numpy())
        print("r2:",r2_score)

print('Test Accuracy of the model on the 10000 test images: {} %'.format(np.mean(r_squares)))

So I printed the predictions and all were zeros.

You have not said anything about inputs or outputs, so it’s hard to tell. May be your labels (Y) is predominately 0’s with only a few 1’s so its natural for the network to gravitate towards zero.
This is more pronounced because you are using MSELoss here that calculates average squared loss. You can try -

1. Change loss to nn.CrossEntropyLoss