Multiple Parameter Image Regression

Hi

I’m kind of stuck on my work, and I’m looking for some advices.

I’m a image processing engineer. And I’m having a conventional image filter G, with a number of parameters w=(w1, w2, … wn).
So I’m going to have y_out = G(y_in, w), and the y_in and y_out is 2D gray level image.

And the G is not a blackbox, but it is quite complicated filter, so it takes a lot of try-and-errors, time, and effort to find a right or optimal parameters by hand-picking.

What I’m trying to do is let a deep learning model to learn to generate the parameter vector w based on the input image y_in and output image y_out. Then I think it can be considered as image regression problem. The input is images (y_in and y_out), and the output is the parameter vector w. Since the G is not the blackbox, I can reasonably randomly generate the w, so does y_out. So I can generate a lot of training/validation data.

Before I make a huge data and huge model, I just made a very small set with very few parameters like 10 parameters, w10=(w1,w2, … ,w10) for checking if the model is working okay. I generated 200 y_in/y_out/w10 pairs for training, and 30 pairs for validation.

I tried like giving both y_in and y_out to a deep learning model, for example resnet, and make the model to predict the parameter w, so I put sigmoid activation at the output neuron, and used MSE loss. It didn’t work well.