ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'pdpbox'

As part of Lesson 4 of the ML course, I’m trying to import the pdpbox and plotnine packages into my Jupyter notebook on Crestle. However, I ended up with the following error:

I have already pip-installed the pdpbox and plotnine packages into my Crestle machine. As for environments, I think Crestle only starts off with one environment to begin with. I’m a complete noob when it comes to CLI/bash commands so if someone can guide me through what needs to be done, that would be very helpful!

Can you check to see if the package is listed as being installed. What happens when you type in !conda list or !pip list into a notebook cell.

it’s possible you have different versions of python installed and you pip installed pdpbox for some different version.
An empirical set of steps I follow in such cases are :-

• Make sure you have the right kernel selected on your jupyter notebook (mostly the conda env you created before starting out, its always suggested to create a separate new conda env)
  • Type in !pip list or !conda list (as stated above) if the package is actually installed or not in the path available for our current notebook, in your case it shall not be present here because you can not import it.
  • Make sure the sys.path on python has included the path to where your conda/pip packages are installed, if not, try to install the package in some of the included path or add a new path reference
  • Worst case, I simply make a new conda env and start from the beginning.

Hi @davidh
When I type in !pip list, I get the following packages amongst others:

PDPbox 0.2.0
plotnine 0.4.0

So it seems the packages are present in the notebook environment…

Hmm. A bit strange. Can you check what conda environments are listed when you type !conda info --envs into a cell and run.

This is what the cell spits out:

/bin/sh: 1: conda: not found