Mobilenet v2 - How to fine tune?

I’m just starting out with fastai and am trying to do transfer learning using Mobilenet v2 on a custom dataset.

cnn_learner() doesn’t currently support this architecture out of the box so I’m trying to import a pretrained model from torchvision.models as such:

import torchvision.models as models
mobilenet = models.mobilenet_v2(pretrained=True)

What would be the next steps from here? How much do I need to modify this model using Pytorch (cutting off the classifier, adding new layers…) before I can plug it into cnn_learner() Is this possible at all?

Hi Bianca,

you’ll have to define the _model_meta for the mobilenet_v2. As far as I could see, mobilenet doesn’t have a pooling layer so I am not sure if fastai’s concat pool make sense with this mobilenet_v2?

model = models.mobilenet_v2

# copied the split and cut from denseness ... you'll have to check if the splits and cut make sense
def _mobilenet_v2_split(m:nn.Module): return L(m[0][0][:7],m[0][0][7:], m[1:]).map(params)
_mobilenet_v2_meta   = {'cut':-1, 'split':_mobilenet_v2_split, 'stats':imagenet_stats}
model_meta[models.mobilenet_v2] = {**_mobilenet_v2_meta}

# create dls 

learn = cnn_learner(dls, model, pretrained=True)

Tried that with a pretreated xresneXt a while ago … should work that way :).

Florian

5 Likes

Hi Florian,

Thank you very much for your suggestion, I will try it out during the weekend and update you on how it went!

Try this:

learn = cnn_learner(dls, models.mobilenet_v2, cut=-1)
1 Like

Hi Rahul,

Thank you for your help!

I did this:

mobilenet = models.mobilenet_v2(pretrained=True)
learn = cnn_learner(dls, mobilenet, cut=-1, metrics=[accuracy])

And got this error:

TypeError: forward() got an unexpected keyword argument 'pretrained'

Then I tried without (pretrained=True) and it’s currently training. Judging by the accuracy after the first epoch (~91%), it would seem that the model comes pretrained despite leaving this part out.