ML or DL Course for FastAi

I am a newbie in Data Science, and wanted to gain deeper application + hands-on knowledge on the same. I was wondering should I start with fastai’s Machine Learning course from 2018 - Introduction to Machine Learning for Coders: Launch · fast.ai , or the latest Deep Learning course :- https://course.fast.ai/ would suffice. I believe the ML course is on an older version of fastAi.
Thanks in advance!

This is just my own, personal opinion, and that is that if I were starting out right now, I’d just go with the 2020 version of the fast.ai course. If you can wait a couple months you may get access to the 2022 version of the course, but having been part of it, it is not too divergent from the 2020 version and so if you get started with the 2022 version in let’s say August of this year, your time spent on the 2020 version would have been well spent. It is still using the fastbook but has some new concepts like transformers and Jeremy has used Kaggle notebooks to make it more accessible for participants. Also, there are a lot of walkthru videos which will be made available which cover topics like Vim/Bash/setting up Paperspace instances/ Submitting to Kaggle competitions etc.

HTH.

3 Likes

Hi Kashish
It might be worth waiting for the 2022 couse. You could try
[Computational Linear Algebra] and [Code-First Introduction to Natural Language Processing]
whilst you are waiting. You could also try [www.probabilitycourse.com].
Regards Conwyn

1 Like

Thanks a lot for your inputs. Is there any planned date for the launch of 2022 course online ? I’m planning to wait for the course, in the 2 month window, I can cover some other aspects of data science (like stats, SQL, etc)

Thanks for your inputs Conwyn. Will try out the courses you recommended!