Metadata in ULMFiT - Improving accuracy by up to 20%

My team and I have been working to perform a more in-depth analysis of how you can introduce metadata (such as author or publication) into a model along with the text. We have been calling this Metadata Enhanced ULMFiT (ME ULMFiT)

Our analysis has shown some interesting results:

• A single piece of metadata improved the model by as much as 20% (relative improvement)
  • Adding more metadata to the model did not always improve results
  • Our method of adding metadata, which has unique tags per column and concatenates the values in the metadata columns, seems to fairly consistently outperform the method suggested by fastai (just separating fields by xxfld)

I’d love to get people’s thoughts on it, as I feel like there is still a lot to learn around this approach.

10 Likes

Hi Matthew! Could you please share the code that adds the metadata to the text? I’m a beginning programmer and in doubt of when and how to include them.

I have a base of 40k complaints, classifying them with ULMFiT gives accuracy of 74% into 11 classes and 59% into 66 classes, so I am eager to test how much the results can improve with metadata which I have a plenty of.

I am writing a master’s thesis about my work, so I will be able to cite your work in it.

1 Like

Those seem like quite good results - I’d be very interested to hear how metadata works for you. There are two components we had to add the metadata. The first serves to clean up the fields and combine multiple strings into one string:

def modify_metadata(input_string, tag_name):
    data = tag_name + "_".join(input_string.split(" "))
    if "," in data:
        data = data.replace(",", "")
    return data

Then you prepend the metadata to the start of the quote:

def add_metadata_joined(input_row, metadata_list):  
    tagged_text_list = []
    # Adapt the following line to get the list of tags we want to use
    for data in metadata_list:
        separator = ""