Match_embeds fastaiv2

Hello! I am new in the forum and i registered because I had a question. I am a junior developer and i was wondering about the functionality of match_embeds.

So one of the arguments is old_wgts which the function itself changes in place and at the same time it returns the changed in place old_wgts argument. Whats the point of changing some variable in place and at the same time returning this variable. Anyway the old variable has been modified so it seems a bit redundant.

Just wondering if that was intended and if that is a good practice in Software Development. To me it seems a bit redundant, so either you change a variable in place or you return a new variable without modifying the original one.

Thanks a lot! :slight_smile:

The reason why this is done is if we use a pretrained WikiText model (or your own that you’re fine-tuning on top of). We need to have its embeddings (aka their vocab) to match what our new vocab is. If there’s zero redundancies, then we’re good to go. If not, we need to adjust that matrix (in place so we keep the old weights) to make room.

Edit: Technically you are right, since it’s by reference we shouldn’t be returning the value, a PR would be helpful if you’d like to try :slight_smile:

I understand the motivations and what the function does. My question is not related to what it does but more on how it does it.

So the function itself modifies the input variable and returns the already modified variable. So whats the point of returning a variable, in this case old_wgts if the original is also modified!

Let’s say I remove the return statement in the orginal function, then the input old_wgts will be modified and i do not need any return, that’s why I ask about the redundancy in the code

Blockquote

1 Like

Apologies :slight_smile: Yes, see the latter part of my comment, that would be a bug!

Yup, just saw it. Thanks a lot! :slight_smile: