Life changes, or how the course went from being too high level to too low level from my perspective

I remember taking the fastai course for the first time

“OMG this is so high level, how is this even learning? Where are the derivatives?”

That was at a time when I studied machine learning.

I didn’t compete at Kaggle. I didn’t have an ML job. I watched lectures, read books and papers, pondered set theory and the construction of real numbers, I didn’t even realize that PyTorch (or anything else with autograd) existed and I wrote code like this.

Fast forward 5 years to this week’s lecture. Having worked in ML for the last 4 years or so

“OMG this is so low level. Ahhh so this is how we calculate the bias term, and this is where we stick with torch.no_grad(). Ahhh, I see.”

I found this experience quite surprising :slight_smile:

What is the meaning of all this?

On one hand, it might be that what you do in the workplace, how you bring value to the world, is very far removed from the perception of learning instilled in us at school.

The acquisition of skills that make us valuable in the real world might not feel like learning at all!

Case in point – the job that I started just recently. I am getting so much value in my work from

• being able to identify what is important to focus on (we practice this as we learn a new way of reading papers which will most likely be discussed later in the course)
  • how to learn from jupyter notebooks created by others (this literally mirrors the process of doing the fastai homework!)
  • being able to set up my own work environment, install software libraries, navigate to parts of the codebase that are relevant without giving it too much thought, all of this has become second nature to me and is something that we practice in this course