Lesson 2: 'NoneType' object is not iterable

when entering the below code,
dls = bears.dataloaders(path)

I receive the error message: ‘NoneType’ object is not iterable. What should I do?

Hi Sarrah,

I hesitate to offer advice as I’m very new to DL/coding! I had a similar issue which was caused by my path object not set-up correctly (backslash v forward slash).

Hopefully that helps?

1 Like

Hi Troy, thanks so much for replying! Totally new to DL & coding too so I really appreciate the help. What path object are you referring to? Is it in the code snippet attached above or somewhere on top?

I tried adding a backslash here but ended up with an error.

I didn’t use that code as had issues with Azure keys so used duckduckgo image downloader which dropped images into a file structure directly. Probably means I’m likely to mislead you!

It should be forward slash so sorry for distracting you.
Is your path object unchanged:
bear_types = ‘grizzly’,‘black’,‘teddy’
path = Path(‘bears’)

The error message here is not exactly obvious. After some debugging, I realised it comes from having 0 (zero) items in the source, maybe because the path is not correct.

You can inspect if this is the case by passing the verbose=True parameter:

dls = bears.dataloaders(path, verbose=True)
3 Likes

I`m having the same issue. On further inspection it seemed that that the following block didn’t download any pictures (it just created the folders). So I assume that caused the bug in the code. (iterating over an empty list?)
Question now is, how to make it download the bear pictures in the first place?

‘’’
if not path.exists():
path.mkdir()
for o in bear_types:
dest = (path/o)
dest.mkdir(exist_ok=True)
results = search_images_bing(key, f’{o} bear’)
download_images(dest, urls=results.attrgot(‘contentUrl’))
‘’’

Yes, Oliver. I have the same issue and found that the images were not downloaded in the first place. That is, ‘fns’ is empty.