Learn.show_results show the same examples all the time for validation set

Hi everyone, I’m new to fastai so maybe I’m missing something obvious, but so far I havent found answer either in documentation, sourcecode or in this forums.

If I run:

learn.show_results(ds_type = fai.basics.DatasetType.Train)

I get different result (different examples) every time.

But if I use Valid or leave ds_type as default (which is Valid) I get the same examples over and over.

I traced the reason to DataBunch.one_batch() which produces the same batch for validation on every run (but different ones for train) but that’s as far as I managed to follow the trail until got completely lost in the code and cant figure out why it works that way.

Can someone help out with figuring out what I have to change in one_batch() or in some function called by it to change this behaviour? The reason for this is that when I show results of my model it keeps showing the same triplets of images (its a autoencoder so I have input Image, reconstructed Image and copy of input image shown) every time when I want to see how it behaves on other examples without having to go through hoops of predicting with model and generating images etc…

I’m using version ‘1.0.54’.

Thank You in advance

2 Likes

The training dataloader is suffled at every epoch, which means it’s shuffled each time you call one_batch, but the validation dataloader is not.

1 Like

Thank You for the response - Thanks to You I’ve found that the initialisation is done in DataBunch.create() and I’ve monkey patched my version of create with following line changed:

dls = [DataLoader(d, b, shuffle=s, drop_last=s, num_workers=num_workers, **dl_kwargs) for d,b,s in
       zip(datasets, (bs,val_bs,val_bs,val_bs), (True,True,True,True)) if d is not None]

This fixed my problem. Now learn.show_result() gives me different batch every time