Issues with the text_classifier_learner

Dear all,

I’m really new to FastAI and to this forum. I’ve just started reading the book through Jupyter pages and I am still at 01_intro. I continue to face the “CUDA out of memory” error when I execute the text_classifier_learner cell. I tried also with the suggestion to specify the batch size. I tried with 32, 16 and even 8 but, no matter what I do, I face the same error every time.

Is this a common issue? Are you aware of any problems from other users?

I am running the notebooks on my personal computer, which is quite new (bought last year). It has an NVidia PH-GTX1050TI-4G, CUDA 10.2, and Ubuntu 20.04 LTS. I am using Juypyter lab.

I did not have any issue with the previous experiments (those regarding image classification).

I thank in advance whoever will answer.
Best regards,
Michele

I ran into that even on sagemaker p2 instances, data loaders has something to do with it I fiddled around and it went away try restarting the Jupiter kernel once you change the batch size

@pineapple1 thanks for your suggestion. Unfortunately, I tried this already and it didn’t work. I tried also to monitor the GPU memory consumption through the nvtop command and I noticed that, obviously, I receive the error as soon as the memory occupation reaches 100% (which, for me, it is 4Gib).

I think there is something into the loader that leaks memory. It’s true that I don’t have a GPU with 8Gib RAM, but … I thought 4Gib should be enough, also because my GPU is quite new.

I made another trial of the same eperiment through Google Colab. In that case I didn’t have any issue. The training completed successfully. Is Colab so generous to provide free GPUs with more RAM than mine? This is the sole hypothesis that comes to my mind.