Is DL overkill for my use case?

Hi all, just started taking the fast.ai course after circling around/dipping my toes in the subject for a while. I work with cultural heritage and have access to hundreds of thousands of historical and contemporary images and their–so far manually acquired–semantic metadata, so am really excited to feed all this to my models :slight_smile:

One issue we constantly have to deal with is cropping images, whether they are documents captured with color and metric scales by their side (example below), projector slides captured together in a single transparent sleeve, or 19th century albums that include a large frame around the image. I have worked with (poorly self-taught) image processing techniques this far and got to a decent result in some cases, but it is always a fine tuning nightmare since thresholding and morphological operation parameters work for one image and then not for the next one. I’ve been thinking of annotating my images and training a model to detect bounding boxes, for instance, but am aware that this would be more computationally expensive than image operations.

Do you think this is a valid – and reasonable – way forward or given the homogeneity of the image structure I should invest in more ‘pure’ image processing? Of course I’m still interested in DL for classifying and indexing images and whatnot, just curious about this particular case.

Thanks for your time (long post I know) and responses!

3 Likes

Hi @martimpassos!

Document detection is certainly a valid application for deep learning. If you need a place to get started, I came across this tutorial using PyTorch to extract information from images of student-id cards (link). It uses a Mask R-CNN model for detection and segmentation.

You can also train a Mask R-CNN model using the IceVision library (link), which uses the fastai training loop. I have worked with IceVision before for an object detection project, so let me know if you need help installing it.