Introduce yourself here!

Please use this thread to tell us a bit about yourself. What got you interested in data ethics? What are you hoping to get out of the course? Feel free to give some background about your other career or personal interests as well.

2 Likes

I will start: I became increasingly interested in data ethics over the last few years, and began doing more reading, writing, and speaking on the topic, particularly about bias, disinformation, and surveillance. For the course, Iā€™m really looking forward to the discussions we can have with such an interesting and varied group!

As background, I have a PhD in math and previously worked as a software developer, data scientist, and bootcamp instructor. Four years ago I co-founded fast.ai, a non-profit research lab with the goal of making deep learning more accessible to a broader and more diverse group of people. I had experienced some of the toxicity related to lack of diversity in both academia and the tech industry, and I believe this is linked to many of the ethical issues we see in tech. So my growing focus on data ethics felt like a natural extension of my work with fast.ai.

In terms of personal interests, I have a 4-year old daughter, who is a lot of fun and keeps me busy! I also like blogging (which I think of as a cross between a personal & professional interest), yoga, and weight-lifting. I grew up in Texas, and have lived in Pennsylvania and North Carolina, before moving to San Francisco 8 years ago.

4 Likes

Hi! Iā€™m Collin Lysford, a report developer at El Camino Hospital, he/him pronouns. Essentially, I write database code and front-end reports to answer questions for clinicians and hospital administrators - so obviously a field where itā€™s important to steward data with care. As for why Iā€™m interested, this hits at the intersection of two of the big research questions Iā€™m interested in. Iā€™ll just copy-paste from my resume rather than re-articulate: