IndexError: Target 63 is out of bounds while using unet for kaggle dataset

Hello all,

I am using dataset given by TGS salt identification challenge - Kaggle (https://www.kaggle.com/c/tgs-salt-identification-challenge/datadataset.

I am new to fastai. I am running this on GCP.

My train data is images and output is the mask for those images. I am using below code

src = (SegmentationItemList.from_folder(image_path)
.split_subsets(train_size=0.8, valid_size=0.2)
.label_from_func(get_y_fn, classes=codes))
#codes = [‘salt’, ‘not_salt’] labels
learn = unet_learner(data, models.resnet34, metrics=metrics, wd=wd)

above lines of code running perfectly, but when I execute the line
lr_find(learn)

It gives me an error like: IndexError: Target 101 is out of bounds.
each and every run time it changes the target.

Can anyone please me help me out here how to solve this kind of error and what is the reason behind it

Thank you!

I think I know what the problem is. It looks like the masked label is not from 0 to 1. It is 0, 255 or more.
Take a look here:

You can see green 4.
But when it is your image, it will become either 255 or 0.

I highly suggest to know what the range of the pixel value of the masked image.

Thank you for your suggestions @JonathanSum.

But my mask values are in between 0 to 1 already and I have checked also.
See, the model is also trained by resnet because when I tried to predict mask (label-output) for one of my test images, it is giving me the result also.

But I think the problem is during plotting, it can not get values proper or according to indexes that’s why it gives me an error. I am not sure about it, but I felt it might be one reason.

when I run learn.recorder.plot(), it gives me the blank plot for learning_rate v/s loss.

I also tried to increase batch size but still, it gives me the error.

I don’t know how to resolve it.

For the masked image, I checked it.

See the white squares? They are 255.