Improving crop-to-crop matching for "Is it really worth it?" meme maker

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I recently finished the course and just wanted to say thank you for making all these excellent materials available and accessible to everyone! I’m building a small capstone project and have a first working version on HF Spaces, but I need some help improving the quality of the results.

The project

I’m building an app that can automatically generate “Is it really worth it?” memes, like the image below. The goal is: based on an input image, presumably of something human-made (e.g. food or electronics), to find a part of the image that looks like a part of an animal image in a reference dataset, with the tongue-in-cheek implication that the object in the input image was made using animal parts. I have a first working version, but the image matching itself isn’t working very well, so I’d like some help.

Disclaimer: Animal rights are a serious thing and this is just a dumb dark joke - I love animals and I apologize in advance if anyone finds this hurtful. I’m happy to remove the post if people think it doesn’t belong here.

How it works

I have a first working version on HF Spaces here. The code is available in the Files tab. Here’s an outline of how it works:

• I framed the problem as a retrieval task: given an input image, I want to retrieve the most similar image in a reference dataset. I need 1) a feature extractor that will extract meaningful features from the reference dataset and store them, and 2) a retriever that will extract the same features from the input image, and use some similarity metric to find the image in the reference dataset that’s closest to the input image.