ImageDataBunch from 500 megapixel images as tiles

I’m working on an image segmentation application that consumes very high resolution images (~ 500 mpx or 23000 x 23000 px). It can work fine by consuming the images in smaller tiles (it’s ok due to the nature of the images - microscopy slide scans, a “whole slide” view would be useless anyway).

But I was thinking of avoiding writing the image tiles to disk. Having the tiles generated in memory (system RAM ofc, not GPU’s) for the purpose of the short training session is OK though. So, my question is:

How could I create an ImageDataBunch from a set of in-memory (system RAM) images (tiles I’d chop the original large image into), preferably without writing them to disk?

My loading code for now is very simple (and I’m kind of a total noob to fastai’s data block api - also “dataset” in my code refers to nothing remotely similar to fastai Dataset, it’s specific to the models of my app):

def make_data_bunch(dataset_images, cls_codes):
    dir_path = dataset_images[0]['image'].parent.parent
    return (
        SegmentationItemList(
            items=[di['image'] for di in dataset_images],
            path=dir_path
        )  # -> : SegmentationItemList
        .split_by_files([
            di['image'].name for di in dataset_images
            if di['purpose'] == 'validation'
        ])  # -> : ItemLists(train: SegmentationItemList, valid: SegmentationItemList)
        .label_from_lists(
            train_labels=[di['label_image'] for di in dataset_images
                          if di['purpose'] == 'train'],
            valid_labels=[di['label_image'] for di in dataset_images
                          if di['purpose'] == 'validation'],
            classes=np.asarray(cls_codes)
        )  # -> : LabelLists(train: LabelList(x, y: SegmentationItemList), valid: LabelList(x, y: SegmentationItemList))
        .transform(get_transforms(flip_vert=True), tfm_y=True)