Image Segmentation: Loading a third image for a loss function

Hi everyone,

I came across the boundary loss function (published: https://github.com/LIVIAETS/surface-loss and https://arxiv.org/abs/1812.07032). This function uses a distance map computed from ground truth. While I have successfully ported their pytorch implementation to work with fastai, it is by no means fast if the distance map is computed on the fly. In their implementation, they use pre-computed maps and surely, it would be trivial to compute and save these maps as images such that they could be loaded like the other images. I have been looking around for some hours now, without identifying a simple and practical way of loading in an image, ground truth and corresponding third image containing the distance map using the data block API or callbacks etc.

If you were to do this, how would you go about it?

Thank you in advance

2 Likes

I’m not an expert, but I would create a ImageTuple Custom class (alike what you can read from the custom data tutorial)

@sebbecht, did you find an elegant way to do this?
I’m currently looking to load a mask into a custom loss function.
My main objective is to do targeted image restoration using a mask to add weighting to certain pixels.

Concatenate mask and your weights as a single target tensor and split it in your custom loss function

Yes that’s exactly how I decided to solve it. Although I did shelve this issue for a bit while working on my dataset. I think this is the simplest way of doing it with a fastai loader. But I think I might end up doing a custom training loop and loaders and then apply transforms etc manually anyway. Let me know how it goes!

Thanks for your replies guys, that’s a great solution!
I’m struggling however to figure out where exactly to concatenate the tensors…?

So I have:
src = ImageImageList.from_folder( path_scratched_imgs ).split_by_rand_pct( 0.1, seed = 42 )

Followed by:

get_target = lambda x: path_imgs/x.name

data = (src