How to pick the right pretrained model

How do you pick which pretrained model for each individual application? For example if someone were to build hotdog or no hotdog with 1000 trained images which pretrained model would you pick where as if you had 10000 images would you pick a different model?

Are bigger models better than smaller models? or do they larger models pretrained models work better with more data?

edit: bigger as in more complex and more layers

3 Likes

I am not an expert in this. But here’s understanding.

You always want to go for the smallest model that works well for your data. Up until earlier this year, people usually start with VGG16 or VGG19, but Resnet is also a great choice for fine tuning. Start with Resnet18, then to Resnet34 and Resnet50. You could also try the newer models in ResNext or Nascent nets.

Bigger models is not always better. They usually overfit your train data. What you really care about is Validation loss. Keeping it small, yet closer to training loss is tricky and may need some regularization like DropOut or WeightDecay etc. FastAI provides easy access to all of them.

Whether you need more data or not depends on the task. If you are trying to identify Hotdog or not-hotdog you may not need lots of data. But if you are trying to read Street Signs and Logo from your pictures, you may need more data.

tldr: When working on a new problem, always start with simple networks - Resnet18 / 34 or 50 are good choices.

12 Likes

This is sort of looking at things from really high up but I hope it’s useful:

One thing that we really are worried about in picking a big/complex model is the risk of overfitting. A big or overly complex model can give too much importance to small, subtle changes in features. And so when it sees new data, it will “overreact” and perform poorly, as compared to a more general model.