How to load pre-trained model (WT103) from local directory

Hello,
I’m new to Fastai and currently making my way through part 1. I am currently work in version 1.0.55 and I am behind a firewall where I can’t run the URLs.WT103 to download the pre-trained embeddings from the s3 bucket.

learn = language_model_learner(data_lm, pretrained_model=URLs.WT103, drop_mult=0.3)

However I do have access to the original wt103 model located here and I have downloaded it locally on my machine. Can anyone provide guidance on how I can load this file to get the language_model_learner working with my constraints of not being able to access it and download it from URLs.WT103.

Thanks

1 Like

Note that this model won’t fully work with v1.0.55 as we have changed things in the tokenization process or special token ids. It won’t be horrible, just not as good as the latest one. Also note that the line of code you passed can’t work as there is no pretrained_model argument in language_model_learner.

To use a pretrained model you have locally, you should put the files in .pth and .pkl in the models directory of your Learner (by default data_path/models) then use

learn = language_model_learner(data_lm, pretrained_fnames=[name_of_the_pth_file, name_of_the_pkl_file], drop_mult=0.3)

The names of the files should be without extensions.

2 Likes

@sgugger Thanks for the help on @mlxMantic’s question, wondering about a couple of things. First, a quick assumption I want to clear up. When you say “latest one” you mean the WT103_v1, correct?

Second, regarding placement of the pretrained models in the filesystem such that the language_model_learner is able to find them, where exactly is data_path? Is it an environmental variable that I need to set? I don’t see a folder in the filesystem that fastai would care about with this name. I also tried to set a relative path to the location I saved the files but I got a SyntaxError exception, which may be expected I guess.