How do this course connect to the current era of LLMs?

There is no doubt the course and the teacher are great ( I am at the initial Lessons).

As I am new to this — does this course then help me use the current AI tools in the news now?
The analogy in my mind is should I learn Assembly today or start with a High Level language?

2 Likes

Hi,

IMO, if you are new to deep learning, Part 1 of the course will help you understand the basic concepts in model training and deployment for vision, text and tabular data. The NLP chapter introduces Hugging Face ecosystem and their transformers framework which are very relevant to LLMs. Also, Part 2 dives deep into transformers along with other foundational concepts.

I am still doing Part 2 of the course, but as per my understanding LLM specific stuff like prompting, RAG, etc. are not covered. I started with the course first and am slowly starting to learn the concepts specific to LLMs now. I believe you can go about this the other way around as well (start with LLM specific concepts and go deeper into the fundamentals in this course), especially if you have some prior exposure to ML/DL.

P.S.: This video from Jeremy is a great starting block to start playing around with LLMs:
A Hackers’ Guide to Language Models

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

1 Like

Should I learn Assembly today or start with a High Level language.

If you are interested in technology then learn Assember. Given a few registers, storage transfers, jumps and arithmetic will help you understand computers without the constrains of any intellectual concepts.
You will also spend hours working out why it did not do what you thought you had coded.

Alternatively if you just want to solve problems then any high level language will do but you will often say - All I want to do is … but the compiler say No.

Similarly you can learn about the traditional technology such as clustering, learning and even GPU.