How can I apply transformations to image at inference?

Hello,

I’m new to coding. The FastAI library is very impressive.

What is the most efficient way to do inference on the same image several times, with transformations applied to the same test image (in order to take the average predicted result)?

Or more simply, how can I do inference on an image after transformations have been applied?

This has been shown to be successful for improving prediction accuracy (see paragraph on inference here), and it seems to work better in my own tests using Keras, but my code is written in a clumsy way and I’d like to do this in FastAI:

when I do:
learn.predict(img.apply_tfms)
I get an error of:
‘function’ object has no attribute ‘apply_tfms’

Thanks,
Noob

What is img? Seems to be a function instead of a proper image and that’s the error shown.

You could create a databunch with your test set and give it the transformations you want so that it would apply them when you get items from it. You would need to set the sampler to not be random (to make sure prediction order is always the same) and then you can call learn.get_preds() x times and average the results.

Calling predict to the single image many times is simpler though, will just be more inefficient.

Thanks Julian,

img = open_image(’/home/user/Desktop/image_name.png’)

If I want to do inference for just one image, how do I create a DataBunch for that? DataBunch requires training dataset, validation dataset, and labels.

How do I get a single image object with transformations on which learn.predict() can be called?

Thanks

Learn.predict() will automatically use the transformations your model was trained to be tested on (the transforms passed into the initial DataBunch object). If you want to modify the image beforehand I’d look into some sort of external PIL functionality that can do it, or dig into some source code to what the images are doing.

Let me know if that helps.

4 Likes