Having problems running pascal.ipynb notebook

First of all, thank you very much for the wonderful course, @jeremy!
I studied 12 lessons currently. It really made me understand deep learning at some level, while other videos and articles did not help.

I found some notebooks that were not covered in the course-v3. For example, Object Detection notebook pascal.ipynb.

I already found the topic, where @muellerzr says that Object Detection will be a separate course.
But I thought, I can learn it by myself (with a little help of the community maybe). I really want to make a project with object detection to detect cards of game “Set”. And also I have some more ideas for deep learning projects in my mind.

So, I tried understanding (not up to the end yet) and running pascal.ipynb.
It fails at first lr_find():

in _unpad(self, bbox_tgt, clas_tgt)
     21         print("clas_tgt: ", clas_tgt)
     22         print("self.pad_idx: ", self.pad_idx)
---> 23         i = torch.min(torch.nonzero(clas_tgt-self.pad_idx))
     24         return tlbr2cthw(bbox_tgt[i:]), clas_tgt[i:]-1+self.pad_idx

RuntimeError: invalid argument 1: cannot perform reduction function min on tensor with no elements because the operation does not have an identity at /pytorch/aten/src/THC/generic/THCTensorMathReduce.cu:64

As you can see above, I created debug output for clas_tgt and pad_idx.

Found that it crashes when there are only zeros in clas_tgt.

clas_tgt:  tensor([0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0], device='cuda:0')
self.pad_idx:  0

And that is clear, why it fails: torch.nonzero returns empty tensor, torch.min can’t handle it.

I started thinking, how does it happen, that there is clas_tgt with zeros only sometimes. I’m not yet completely understanding the notebook, but I guessed that there are some images without bboxes coming here. So I decided to check the databunch and found that there are some images with no bboxes.

Here is my dirty way to check that fact
data = get_data(1,128)

i = 0