Gaussian Mixture Model

Hello,

I am working on a Kaggle project and saw a notebook using Gaussian Mixture Model on a bimodal / multimodal distribution.

To understand it better I started learning about Gaussian Mixture Model from here

Now I have a basic high-level understanding of this concept and understand why it was used but I ** couldn’t** understand the full article especially the following:

• Expectation-Maximization in Gaussian Mixture Models

• E- Step

• M Step

• and the intuition behind complicated math

Here are my questions

• Is it alright to have a high-level understanding or will it be wiser to deep dive?

• How to understand such complicated stuff better tp be a better ML resource. I have tried but am unable to fully comprehend it. Any tips. suggestions are welcome.

I find such struggles frustrating and disheartening and at times I find myself taking my eyes off the main goal (Competitions / make applied AI apps) and find myself going down one Rabbit hole after another and yet end up with lots of confusion and wasted time.

Any help is welcome.

Thanks

Hi Mohit!

One step at a time. Jeremy’s “dive right in” approach is great for getting stuff done – I know of no faster way to get to state-of-the-art results. But it can be high-frustration because it postpones the understanding. At my work some people love it and some hate it.

But if your goal is to do competitions and make AI apps, maybe pick a part of it that resonates, and gradually branch out from there. For example, you might specialize in either supervised or unsupervised, etc.

OK, GMMs. Sounds like the bugbear is the EM algorithm, not necessarily the idea of a mixture.