Finding a good fastai v2 model - would love feedback

My friend @boris wrote this great callback to help measure how fastai v2 models are doing, and comparing all of them in one place to find the best one.

Quick tutorial

Would love any feedback on the tutorial or the callback! Here’s the accompanying colab.

7 Likes

Just read it and can say I absolutely LOVE it :slight_smile: Super helpful for someone like me who wants to try out W&B after hearing about it for so long. Thank you so much @boris for a wonderful tutorial :slight_smile:

1 Like

So glad you found it useful! If you have any trouble getting setup/have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask.

1 Like

Thank you for the callback! I am still learning to these features of WandB mostly due to not really having models that needed hyper parameter tuning. (single model run taking 1.5 weeks is a slow iteration time)

Being able to see gradients for fp16 training definitely helped with determining which layers were overflowing.

1 Like

1.5 weeks, oh boy! What kind of models are you training?

Cycle GAN architecture on 2070 Supers(nvlink), with way too much gradient checkpointing,deallocation of memory, bs of 1, and passing of data between GPUs. This is the model: https://marii-moe.github.io/marii-blog/ugatit/fp16/gan/image%20generation/image%20to%20image/2020/06/11/UGATIT-a-GAN-in-fp16.html

1 Like

I’ve been using this callback for all my v2 experiments (computer vision – images), and it is really good. It logs literally everything, and I almost never see the need to log anything separately to wandb.config like the v1 callback.

Great stuff @boris, thank you!

2 Likes