Error when passing a tensor to conv1d

Hello! I want to implement the code from the GAN lecture to a 1D data, instead of 2D images. So for each input I have a 1D tensor, with 500 entries and I want to pass it to a conv1d. After I put it into a mini batch of size 10 and I call x.size() I get this output: torch.Size([10, 500]). However the conv1d gives an error, requiring a 3D tensor, so I tried to add one more dimension, corresponding to the number of input channels (which is 1) so I did this: x = x[:,None,:] and the output of x.size() is this: torch.Size([10, 1, 500]) which is what I want. However, when I pass it again to the conv1d I get this error: TypeError: argument 0 is not a Variable. I updated my pytorch, conda and fastai (I did “git pull”) but I get the same error. What should I do? Thank you!

1 Like

(Apologies if this isn’t right; I’m a relative novice.)

If I recall correctly from the lectures, making something a Variable is what lets PyTorch keep track of the operations made to it so that it can calculate the gradient for us. Have you tried wrapping your tensor in a Variable()?

Try to debug it for your use case like in the Pytorch documentation:

m = nn.Conv1d(16, 33, 3, stride=2)
input = torch.randn(20, 16, 50)
output = m(input)

Input size (N,Cin,L): N is a batch size, C denotes a number of channels, L is a length of signal sequence.

Your error makes me wonder if you properly instanced nn.Conv1d.

(As far as I know with Pytorch 1.0 the Variable() setup is not used anymore.)

1 Like

@MicPie - looks like you’re right! Found this:

On setting .requires_grad = True tensors start forming a backward graph that tracks every operation applied on them to calculate the gradients using something called a dynamic computation graph (DCG) (explained further in the post).