Copy Move Forged Image Detection as a Classification

Hi everyone, I joined the course this week and doing first week’s assignment. I am working on several data sets. One of those is copy-move image forgery dataset that can be found at this link: http://www.vcl.fer.hr/comofod/comofod.html

I am treating this as classification problem and feeding images as 4 classes: Original, Forger, Masked and Binary Masked. Then training the models as per the lesson1 notebook.

My question is, is this the correct approach for this problem? Sorry I am new to computer vision don’t know much how to treat different problems. Please let me know. Thanks.

My resent50 validation accuracy is really good : 95.6%. image

I am also working air quality prediction using images. Will share results soon.

My question is, is this the correct approach for this problem?

I will assume your goal is to eventually infer/predict if any image is original or forged.

I have no domain expertise but it seems like this classifier would work well on masked and binary masked classification, since those have obvious differences, but not so much for the goal above.

For an original vs forged, one would need to establish some sort of a relation within an image set (by set I mean 4 images of same subject, one for each label). Otherwise the classifier has no way to determine if repeated objects in an image are part of the image or copy-pasted in through forgery.

UNLESS, the forging process changes the pixelation around the added-in portions and the model is picking that up as the unique trait/identifier. (Don’t know enough about the how the forged images are created so this is a guess!).

Could you try this only on two classes, original and forged. And then run inference on a few test images (not part of training or validation sets)? I could be wrong here, but I suspect the error rate will go up.

Interesting problems! All the best!

1 Like

Hello Nalini,